Rebecca Hold,

Regent and Publicity Chairman

Okemah Chapter of DAR
Ruth Newport and Carla Schooling were hostesses for the first meeting of the new year of the Okemah Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution at Pepino’s Restaurant in Okemah Sept. 10, 2019.
Regent Rebecca Hold opened the meeting with a thought for the day and led the opening ritual, flag salute, The American’s Creed, the Preamble to the Constitution, and the National Anthem.
Member June Yahola of Cromwell gave a most interesting and entertaining program, “A Salute to American History,” commemorating Constitution Week. We are proud that our chapter was awarded the following certificates and awards from the DAR National Society at the August Oklahoma State Daughters of the American Revolution Workshop held on August 22-22 in Norman, Oklahoma: “Excellence in Constitutional Week Leadership,” “Chapter with a Proclamation from a City Mayor,” “Chapter with the Most Email Usage to Promote Constitution Week,” “The 2016-2019 Trailblazer Chapter Award,” and “Chapter Achievement Award, Level 1.” sepdar
Also congratulations to our Ann Jackson who was presented an award from the DAR National Society for serving as State Chair of Historic Preservation. Ann is a 50-year member of DAR and is such an asset to Okemah chapter.
Nine Constitution Week packets were distributed to nine members who will be visiting classrooms, promoting city proclamations, and setting up displays in their local libraries or other suitable places. Reports will be given at the next meeting to determine how successful the projects were and how we can improve our participation in Constitution Week next year. Hostesses Newport and Schooling conducted the door prize drawing and the meeting was adjourned.
The next meeting will be Tuesday, Oct.r 15, at Pepino’s Restaurant in Okemah. Prospective members are very welcome to attend. Sherrie Case and Joy Hlavaty will be the hostesses and will also be giving the program, “Dolls of America—Rags to Riches.”
Also five new members will be inducted into the chapter by a special guest. The meeting was adjourned by Regent Hold, and a record attendance was reported with 24 members and guests: Dorothy Burden, Sherrie Case, Norma White, Ann Jackson, Geneva Bertges, June Yahola, Yvonne Sowder, Emma Joyce Sowder, Dorothy Haynes, Thelma Shields, Sheldon Starr, Rebecca Hold, Velda Bradley, Mavis Wilson, Judith Drennan, April Jorgensen, Amber Ott, Mary June Cashman, and Lucretia Harkey, prospective members Chris Garber, Emmie Baird, and Lauren Garber, and the hostesses, Ruth Newport and Carla Schooling.